The Eastern Regional Co-ordinating Council envisages a peaceful, progressive and developed Region with high standard of living for its people and a conducive atmosphere where the dreams and aspirations of its inhabitants can be attained and maximized.


The Regional Co-ordinating Council (ERCC) exists as an arm of the Executive to provide quality administrative and technical services through co-ordinating, harmonizing, monitoring and evaluating the plans and programmes of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) District Assemblies, (DAs) and Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs) in order to achieve growth, accelerated poverty reduction and good governance for the overall development of the Region.


The Eastern Region which was created on 1st November, 1953 is one of the ten (10) administrative Regions of Ghana.  The Region shares common boundaries with Greater Accra, Ashanti, Brong-Ahafo and Volta Regions.  Currently the population of the Region stands at 2,633,154 (reference 2012 housing and population Census results).  The major economic activities in the Region are Agriculture, Mining, fishing and commerce.

It has a land area of 19,323 square kilometre which is about 8.19% of the total size of Ghana.  It is the 7th largest region in terms of land area.


According to the 2010 Housing and Population Census results, the Region has a population of 2,633,154 signifying a growth of 2.1% within a period of one decade.  The Region’s population which is very youthful is made up of 51% females and 49% males.  About 41.2% of the population is aged below 15 years with about 5.3% above 64 years leaving 53.5% in the economically active age group. Occupationally, 67.3% of the employed population is engaged in Agriculture, 10.7% in industry and the service sector employs 22% of the workers.  With reference to Urban/Rural split, as much as 27.8% of the Region’s population lives in urban settlements and 72.2 in rural communities.


There are three major ethnic groups in the Region.  They are the Akans, the Krobos and the Guans.


The Region has twenty-six (26) Administrative Municipalities/Districts.  These are made up of ten (10) Municipals and sixteen (16) Districts.



 The Eastern Regional Co-ordinating Council (ERCC) is a statutory organization established by the Local Government Acts 462 of 1993, it is the highest policy making body of the Region, representing the entire political and Administrative machinery of the Central Government at the Regional level.

The membership of the Regional Co-ordinating Council is as follows:

  1. i) Regional Minister –       Chairman
  2. ii) Deputy Regional Minister –       Member

iii)   All Municipal/District Chief Executives              –       Members

  1. iv) All Presiding Members –       Members
  2. v) Two Representatives of the Reg.                 –       Members

House of Chiefs

  1. vi) Regional Co-ordinating Director –       Secretary

vii) All Heads of Decentralized Departments          –       Ex-officio Members

The Council is supported administratively and technically by the Central Administration and the Regional Decentralized Departments.


The Regional Co-ordinating Council has set for itself the following objectives to fulfill its mission and vision.

  • To Co-ordinate Private sector/donor/NGO participation in development projects
  • To monitor, Co-ordinate and harmonize the implementation of District Development Plans and activities within the region.
  • To facilitate the delivery of Public Services within the Region and enhance their impact on beneficiaries.
  • To facilitate the provision of basic social and economic infrastructure and services in the region.


To achieve these objectives and meet the aspirations of the people, the ERCC performs the following statutory functions which are derived from the Local Government Act 462 of 1993.

  • To monitor, co-ordinate and evaluate the performance of the Municipal/District Assemblies in the Region.
  • To monitor the use of all monies allocated to the District Assemblies by any agency of the Central Government.
  • To review and co-ordinate Public Service activities assigned to it by or under any enactment.
  • To perform Development Planning functions as mandated in the National Development Planning Commission (Act 480 of 1994).
  • To provide the District Assemblies with such information and data as is necessary to assist them in the formulation of District Development Plans.
  • To co-ordinate the Plans and Programme of District Planning Authorities within the Region and harmonize the programmes within National Development Policies and priorities for consideration and approval by the National Development Planning Commission (NDPC).
  • To monitor and evaluate the implementation of the programmes and projects of the District Planning Authorities within the Region.
  • To act on behalf of the National Planning Commission with respect to such national programmes and projects in the Region as the commission may direct.
  • To perform such other planning functions as may be assigned by the commission from time to time.
  • To effectively and efficiently perform these functions, the ERCC requires variety of skills and professionals. The Local Government Service Secretariat is mandated to post the various skills mix to the Regional Co-ordinating Council and the MMDAs.


The Central Administration is the Secretariat of the Regional Co-ordinating Council.  It is the focal point for co-ordination and harmonization of all activities of MDAs and District Assemblies in the region.  It is headed by the Regional Co-ordinating Director who is supported by Unit Heads of the Central Administration and heads of Decentralized Departments.

The Central Administration has of four (4) directorates:-

(a) Finance and Administration Directorate

(b) Regional Planning, Budgeting and Co-ordinating Directorate

(c) Human resource Development Directorate

(d) Research, Statistics and Information Directorate (Information        Management System is established).

Other departments deemed part of the Central administration are:

  • Births and Deaths Registry
  • Information Services Department
  • Statistical Service



The Civil Service Law Act 327 of 1963 and the Local Government Service Act make all Decentralized Departments integral part of the Regional Co-ordinating Council.  The Heads of these Departments are ex-officio members of the ERCC without voting rights, but who provide technical advice to the council.  They report to the ERCC through the Regional Co-ordinating Director.


The Regional co-ordinating Council has five (5) sub-committees which are chaired by the Regional Minister, with the Regional co-ordinating Director as Secretary.

They are:-

  1. i) Regional Security Council
  2. ii) Regional Tender Committee/Regional Tender Review Board

iii)          Regional Prison Committee

  1. iv) Regional Police committee
  2. v) Regional Disaster Management Committee


The REGSEC is the highest Security organ in the Region and performs functions assigned to it by the National Security Council.  It provides early warnings to the Central Government of any existence of potential threat to the security of the Region, the government or the country and attempts to diffuse such threats.

The Council is chaired by the Regional Minister and its membership includes all stakeholders in National Security matters and two eminent (civil) personalities of the Region.  The REGSEC holds monthly mandatory meetings.  Emergency meetings are however, held when it becomes necessary to do so.